Is paying nearly 8,000 dollars a semester worth it? Am I really going to benefit from taking 15 credits a semester and putting myself through the grueling four year task of being a college student? What if I went right from high school to a boring 9-5 job making 20,000 dollars a year. I'd be making tuition plus another 4,000 on top of that. Whatever happened to starting at an entry level position and working your way up?
I don't actually feel this way but what if I don't find a job within a year or two after I graduate? Paying back my loans will not be an easy task. I'm sure if I even do find a position in my field once I graduate, paying back my loans will still be a hassle.
We are coming to a time where high school education isn't going to cut it. Back in the 50s you usually went to work after high school. Post-secondary education was for the rich people who could afford to send their children to college. Now, almost every social class goes to college. Not just the kids who come from wealthy backgrounds but the kids who grew up with a one parent income.
More and more businesses are looking for smart, intuitive people to employ. You need to have something that sets you apart from others when applying for a position. A college education is a must have.
In the current economy it may not seem like a worthy investment but over time you will pay back your loans and will make much more money than yo would have if you went right to work after high school.
For me, going to college is more than just an education though. It is a life experience that wouldn't be the same if I waited a few years to do. I think that going to college right after high school or within a year or two helps to give people skills they need to be responsible adults.
When I say college, I don't mean a 4 year university. Any post-secondary education, whether it be a tech school or community college, will be beneficial.
Sometimes I feel like I could accomplish more at a community college or tech school, but since I am already at a 4 year university I don't know if it would be worth it now to leave.
One reason that it may not feel worth it right now is because I am not taking all of my classes seriously because half of them don't directly apply to my major. I am hoping that once I get into more classes concerning my major that I will find my time spent in class worth 8,000 dollars a semester.
So, after all this mad rambling, the lesson I have learned is that I have to persevere through the Liberal education requirements and pray to God that once I get into more of my English classes that college will feel like it's worth it.