Sunday, April 25, 2010

I want a genie.

Lesson of the day: you can’t really depend on anyone. If you want something done, you are going to have to do it yourself.

I helped out my mom yesterday by setting up a ride for her to get to the bus station. We had all the plans worked out. She was going to get picked up at 6 in the morning and be at the bus station by 7.

Well, the ticketing station doesn’t open until 9 this morning. So, that threw everything off. Ashley just happened to have church all day after that. It didn’t work out. My mom called grandma to tell her all about it and now that mom isn’t on a bus my grandma is upset.

I just wish it were easier to depend on people. It always seems to happen. My mom has a plan to get to the bus station and then it falls through. I don’t know why it is so hard really. It is a half hour away from her where she is living.

I wish I had a genie so I could have three wishes. One of them would be to have my mom back in Minnesota. She is 40-years-old and needs to get her life on track. Another wish would be for my grandma to have a nice house. The third wish would be for a free college education. Technically my education part is free but I will still have to pay off some loans afterwards for housing. 

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Memories become treasures.

Yesterday and today I learned that dealing with the death of a family member from college is tough, especially if you don't have a car of your own to drive home.

My uncle died the morning of Monday, April 12th. He was a good man and that is how I will always remember him. He had a great big heart for his family, friends and country. He had three beautiful dogs that he referred to as his kids. He also fought for his country. He was an all-around nice guy.

Being so far from home when something like this happens is tough. All I want to do is go home. I am having a hard time concentrating on studying or getting any of my homework done. I had a test today that I barely studied for. I got about a half hour to forty five minutes of studying in for it. At this point I don't care too much about the test.

When I got the call on Monday morning from my aunt, I was shocked. First I was shocked by her calling me at 8:30 am from her cell phone. Then she said she had bad news. I wasn't expecting to hear her say that my uncle Pat had died. I am devastated but it is hard to grieve at school when you have classwork to do.

I miss my uncle a lot but it hasn't really sunk in yet that he is dead. I had a dream last night that he was still alive. When I go home tomorrow it will probably start sinking in a bit more.

Friday, April 9, 2010

INTERVIEW DAY!

Lesson of the day: interviews are not so bad, or scary. It's the other people or number of other people being interviewed.

I had an interview this morning at 8:30 am. I figured it would be best to get it over with sooner rather than later in the day. I am glad I did. I felt pretty good about it. I think it went well. I answered all of the questions with the appropriate answers, was enthusiastic and was myself. The guy was very nice and personable. It was easy to talk to him and I wasn't too nervous.

My past interviews have been fairly easy and less than five minutes each. The movie theater was a sneeze and the office was barely a sneeze. They were "a piece of cake." During this interview for the book store they asked me real questions about myself, the job and why I should be hired.

I feel like I did really well but there are about 30 other people being interviewed for the job and there are only 5 openings. I have a terrible feeling that there are 5 other people who had the right answers to the questions too and have good grades and good work experience too. ARRRGH!

I have my fingers crossed and hopefully you do too, whoever you are that reads this.

I WANT A JOB!

Here is some advice that I looked at last night to prepare for my interview. http://jobsearch.about.com/od/interviewsnetworking/a/interviewblund.htm

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Just a test.

Alarm Blues.

Lesson of the day: don't shut your alarm off unless you are REALLY getting out of bed.

I slept in today. Way later than I wanted to. I gave myself an extra 15 minutes that turned into about 2 hours. I feel good but I missed class. Oops.

I have this issue quite a bit. Lots of people oversleep, especially college students and teenagers who love to sleep. Adults do it too. It's not just irresponsible people who do it. Many people who oversleep do not realize that they may have something called hypersomnia. Hypersomnia can be caused by excessive sleeping during the day, sleep apnea or narcolepsy.
http://www.webmd.com/sleep-disorders/hypersomnia

There are ways to sort of overcome oversleeping though. If it is really disturbing your schedule or affecting your health. You have to change the way you think about sleeping. If you like to take naps in the afternoon you should keep them short, around 20-30 minutes. Set a schedule for sleeping and stick to it. Give yourself a treat when you don't oversleep. It will help you to want to stick to your schedule.
http://a-sleep.com/over-sleeping/how-to-stop-oversleeping/

I'm going to have to do implicate some of these ideas to my own sleeping. I have been hitting the snooze button multiple times in the morning on multiple days. I am usually in bed around 11:30 and it's been that way for a few months except on weekends. I have to be up on the same time every morning but some mornings are way harder than others.

I think I am going to have to have ice cream for breakfast the mornings I don't oversleep. Or, let myself have a 20 minute nap later in the day...hmm.